The 17th State Senate District includes all of Monroe county, the southern part of Washtenaw county and part of Jackson county.

The Washtenaw county portion includes: Bridgewater Twp, Lodi Twp, Manchester Twp, Milan city (part), Pittsfield Twp, Saline city, Saline Twp and York Twp.

The Jackson county portion includes: Grass Lake Twp, Leoni Twp, Norvell Twp and Summit Twp.